Just Hand The Cock

So much has been said about Life.Yet as always,my humble opinion is,so little has been discovered.Receiving my Toastmaster Of The Year Award for the term 2007 – 2008 a few hours ago,has left a silent appreciation on my part.Silent,because,at long last I feel an innate sense of accomplishment.After all these years,I realized that I had forgotten that feeling of winning.That sense of victory.That satisfaction of contentment.I did not realize just how void I had been in this particular aspect.Only when scores of wonderful individuals,came up to me,palms extended with that sincere eyes looking,muttering,”Congratulations Jaz!”,did that feeling sink in.I wondered why,briefly.

Then it dawned slowly.It was my system of expectations management.I figured that I was contented and happy because,I was fulfilling my expectation.It was no one else’s.The truth is,I was never aware of such awards being in existence,until a month ago,when I was highlighted of my nomination.In essence,my winning of the award was not because I pursued the award,but because I was deserving of it,from the services and contributions I made.How ironical.I gave something without any forms of expected rewards,and I received it from the perspectives of people who viewed that I deserved it.Heh.

I watched a clip over at You Tube just the other day,on this chap named,Miki Fehrer.Well,he was a Yugoslavian soccer player who passed away on the field.At the tender age of 24,he died of cardiac arrest in 2005.Perhaps I am being morbid here,but I was just asking myself,”What if it was me?”The empathy I felt watching that clip was profound,because of the whole dramatic visual,that scarred my eyes.A young man,running,bending over and then just crashing to the floor was just too horrifying.Where was I in 2005?Hmmm…still on that clueless track of not knowing who to date next.

But in that short 2 minutes of footage,I believe,the whole essence of life was encapsulated.It was basically the question of,”What will you be doing,before Death knocks?”.I know,I know.Morbid.But hear me out.I was at the hospital earlier in the day,visiting my warded uncle.as I entered the ward,I was greeted by the sight of a very old lady,strapped to a chair,with a locked chain going across her waist.Just before her,on a raised sorta table,was a play toy.The type children play with to enhance their reflexes.Anyway,I had a hunch that the lady was having a sort of psycho motor problems…

(at this juncture,I’m stopping for a while.I just heard the shouts of,”Don’t move.Stay down.!”I looked at my wall clock and it showed 0335 hours.I hurriedly,grabbed the gate keys and opened the door and step out into the corridors.What greeted me was a surprise!A cop was standing over a squatting Malay chap,with another Malay chap sprawled on the floor.Arms strained behind him by two cops,with one holding a baton.I was trying to figure out the conversation,and all I heard was ,”Why did you run?”.I assumed it was a questioning officer.”I am on AWOL!”came the reply.Aaaah.Now I get the picture!in came three patrol cars into the compounds of my flat’s car park.Out came 8 officers.One detainee,8 officers.Poor Malay chap.Saw him being handcuffed and led away to the cars.His friend,was let off.Smart guy.Because throughout the episode,he was obliging.)

Lesson learned?

1. Do not run if you see patrol cars

2. How many officers do you need to detain one escapee? Apparently 8. Two to detain,6 to be on standby.

3. When your friend is being detained,act blur,stay cool and do whatever the police asks you to do.Brilliant.

4. Do not roam around if you are on AWOL.(Does not need intelligence to figure this out)

5. It’s a Malay chap.(Duh!)

…anyway,back to the old lady.The strangest thing about the old lady was just the small fact,that she was trying desperately to pick the lock that was binding her chains,rather than playing with the given toy.It led me to wonder several things.

  • How old was the lady?
  • Why was she in that state?
  • Where were her immediate next of kins?
  • What was her condition?
  • Was she like this all along?
  • Why pick the lock?
  • What was on her mind?

The recurring thoughts in my mind was that,she was perhaps senile.But I wonder how was she like in her prime?It was disturbing for me to see the toy,because only children play with toy.But I guess,the theory that people will go to that child like mental state of mind was not lost on me. Disturbing yet again.

Hospitals can be a disturbingly enlightening place to be at.It makes you see the fragility of life.Next to my uncle’s bed was a young teen of not older than 25 years in age,with an amputated left leg.Face as pale as ghost.Just across his bed,was a patient,seemingly wasted and breathing himself through the aid of some equipments.Opposite the bed was a groaning old men,with paddings all over the body.

It seems that we ought to treasure some,if not all,aspects of our lives.

As I was mentioning,the question of “What will you be doing,when Death knocks?”is a question,best left unanswered.For now at least.It was some wise crack head that mentioned.”We have no control over two things in life.The family we were born into and how we’ll leave them.”Wise words.

For that Malay chap who just got himself detained,I’m sure he’s in for a long day.For his family,perhaps too.

Oh yeah,I watched Hancock with my missus yesterday.It was disappointing plot wise,but enjoyable nevertheless.I learned several things…

  • One may have the right intentions,but wrong actions to justify
  • One needs a Public Relation campaign when Life throws shit on you
  • One can be a hero without looking like one
  • One should always say Good Job when in doubt on what compliments to give
  • Lastly…you can actually put someone’s head into someone’s ass
Leave a Reply

