Why So Serious?

You know what they say.There are dark movies.And then there are dark movies.The first refers to movies that have their settings in dim lighting,just like that of the atrocious Blair Witch Projects.Then the latter is the one where I just described to Kai,as a “mindfuck” experience.Pardon the crudeness kids.Uncle Jaz cannot help but use the term.(A term introduced to me two years ago by Blithe)

The recent release of The Dark Knight just did that.I cannot recall the last movie that disturbed me so much.Oh wait,I think I remember,the movie was “The Prestige”.I love movies with a sinister message.Movies such as the “Saw” series.Where you leave the cinema asking yourself questions.Those deep provoking questions.I think TDK did just that.I got home last night,after a session with my wife and was totally blown away that I slept at 8 and woke up the next morning.And that was the first time in 6 months that I was that weary,believe me.

So what is the big Kahuunah all about?Well,much has been said about Heath Ledger’s premature death as being a significant contributor in the hype about the movie.The recent comments about him deserving a posthumous Oscar was rife everywhere.I was a bit apprehensive about the whole Kahuunah,because I never thought of Ledger as an A class actor.Well,Brokeback Mountain being the only apt cast that came to mind.And that Knight’s Tale part of course.I remember him more for his locks and looks than his acting.But TDK broke all rules of assumptions.Ledger played the role of the Joker to a perfect tee.If Nicholson gave us a clue on how to cast oneself as the maniacal villain.Ledger had just cast the whole role in stone,with the defining act.Not only did he became the Joker.The Joker became him,I believe.

And the best thing is,even Batman ( Christian Bale) truly had a memorable role to play alongside.And ever heard of anyone saying that two’s a company,and three’s a crowd.Well,they broke that rule of familiarity too,as Harvey Dent/Two Face/Aaron Eckhart played the role with aplomb.You give three deranged,maniacal,self absorbed characters with a plot centering around morality,and what you will get is a blockbuster in your memories.Just insanely memorable.

Consider this.

Batman is a character,driven by a sense of vengeful justice.Works alone.Lives behind a facade.A symbol.

Joker is a character,driven by a sense of purposeful madness.Master schemer.Hides behind a grinning smile.A symbol.

Two Face is a character,driven by a sense of chaotic morality.Truly extreme personalities.Has to live with the good and ugly sides of life.

Wow.

I love Batman primarily because he is as real as you can get to a deranged hero.A vigilante with that self correcting modus operandi.The kind which says,”If people cannot get it done,I’ll get it done.”Very much in line with what the Joker mentioned in one of the lines.Still remember that classic one liner I use often,with that growl in my voice,”It is not about who I am.It is what I do that defines me!” Accountability is Batman’s virtue.It is worthy to highlight that Joker shares the same trait.He takes it upon himself to be the catalyst.He wants to be the accountable freak,who will be the one to upset the justice imbalance.He wants to be that individual who will create chaos for the sheer significance.As he mentioned in the movie,he is not motivated by money.He just do what he does.He does not plan.He hates people who plan.He just does it.To him,people who plan are schemers,and he’s that proverbial someone who’ll tell that the schemes will not work.What a villain.Charismatic,sickening and just plain crazy.Pure evil.Batman’s true archenemy.He’s the comic book version of Professor James Moriarty and Batman is Sherlock Homes.Sheer orgasmic.

Just for this movie alone,I am a fan of Heath Ledger’s Joker.

The Clown Prince of Crime:

Here are a few quotes from this character,from years of crime.I found them mad.Just apply the context and you’ll know what I mean.

  • “They call me the Joker, but I’m not very funny.”
  • “What? Not laughing yet? Just wait ’til I get to the punch line. It’ll kill you! HaHaHaHaHaHaHaHa”
  • “I did it! I finally killed Batman! In front of a bunch of vulnerable, disabled kids!!!! Now get me Santa Claus!”
  • His life is mine… I can crush the breath out of him… effortlessly! I can, at last, triumph! But such a hollow victory–! It was mere luck that caused my attack on him to succeed. I’d always envisioned my winning as a result of cunning… at the end of a bitter struggle between the Batman and Myself– him using his Detective Skills and me employing the divine gift men call Madness!… No! Without the game that the Batman and I have played for so many years, winning is nothing! He shall live… until I can destroy him properly!
  • They all said I was sick in the head. They said I needed help. Well, maybe I am a bit batty. Blame it on the bats in my belfry.

Still not laughing.

Why so serious?

Leave a Reply

