Find True Love and Forget About Me

It has been lingering.The eternal question.’What is true love?”Well,it’s a posed entry in a pal’s blog. My internal ramblings have been pondering about it. Not that it deserved an answer. But,it’s just that I’ve not thought about it. For a very long time.

I’ve always loved “love”.Not sure if I was even akin towards reaching near that nirvana of feeling true love.But yes,am sure that the notion or concept had crossed my kind self somewhere,somehow.There were those who had put forth the idea that “true love” had a lot to do with those facets of loyalty,commitment,unbroken promises,unconditional feelings and the occasional hope.As I scrolled down the list of attributes,I had to agree that “true love” does consist of such things.But still,it’s never quite near the defining answer I hoped anyone could have come up with.  And then it struck me as to what I am satisfied with in defining “true love”…

Craig David – Unbelievable

Always said I would know where to find love,
Always thought I’d be ready and strong enough,
But some times I just felt I could give up.
But you came and you changed my whole world now,
I’m somewhere I’ve never been before.
Now I see, what love means.

[Chorus]
It’s so unbelievable,
And I don’t want to let it go,
Something so beautiful,
Flowing down like a waterfall.
I feel like you’ve always been,
Forever a part of me.
And it’s so unbelievable to finally be in love,
Somewhere I’d never thought I’d be.

In my heart, in my head, it’s so clear now,
Hold my hand you’ve got nothing to fear now,
I was lost and you’ve rescued me some how-.
I’m alive, I’m in love you complete me,
And I’ve never been here before.
Now I see, what love means.

[Chorus]

When I think of what I have, and this chance I nearly lost,
I cant help but break down, and cry.
Oh yeah, break down and cry.

[Chorus]

Now I see, what love means

Okay,so maybe I am being simply idealistic here,but with all sense of respect, this piece of song,aptly describes the context of “true love” for me.
The whole song just describes.And I guess,”true love” is a bit like that.Not defined but felt,experienced.Something that changes you.Something that clarifies.Something that beautifies you.Something that completes you.Something that knocks your head and heart,clamoring for attention.Something beautiful you cannot let go.Over the years,the whole issue of commitment,loyalty,trust,and perhaps being unconditional has been debunked as ideals.For me at least.It’s a personal perspective.Not necessarily a true reflection.If “true love” is as definite as night and day,there will not be a gazillion love songs composed over the ages.Cause when you think about it,to some,suffering in loneliness is “true love”.Can you deny them of that right?They are as entitled to that as to those who believe that “true love” is about planning the signature creation for their wedding dais.

That is why I frankly attest to that idea that if you believe that your “true love” is still out there,the onus is on you to think about it,dream about it or pine for it.I still remember an excerpt I read,from a book written by an Islamic scholar,Ibnu Qayyim I think.It was a thick book on love from the perspectives of Islam.Well,of course the ultimate love should be for our Creator.That is justified.But commenting about human love,the author stressed in his commentary that if anyone were to have a loving longing for someone,yet is not in that privilege situation of being together,and has no ill feelings whatsoever(no sexual intentions),and dies before he can express it…he will be united with that someone in the Hereafter.I just thought that it was such a beautiful concept to live by.(Back then when I was an unnoticed idiot.Love from afar kinda dude.I know.Loser.)I seriously thought that,it was indeed “true love” of the highest degree.I mean,what else can be more true than realizing that the person you love wakes up beside someone else,right?Hehe.

But,when you wake up in the morning,you will wake up in that realm of reality.Funny as it seems,as much as you may want the best of your world,you can at any point of time,choose one.Keep on looking for “true love”.Or stick to the realistic world of settling for “one love”.And trust me…there is that mechanism in you which will always wonder if your “true love” is out there.Hahah.It’s just God’s jealous way of making sure that the ultimate true love is for Him only.There is always a higher degree of comfort and love that can be found in this world or lifetime.But in the eternal context,undeniably there is only Him.Separation occurs usually when,that contentment mechanism in you,suddenly realizes shortcomings and naturally wants to look for improvements.It’s just natural I think.That is why,I am of that firm belief that even if you are in that element of being married,self growth and improvement is vital,because it facilitates the flow of love.

Hey,deep down…as you are reading this,have you ever asked yourself,why your “true love”has to be a Mat or Minah,for that matter.Why not a Latin,Hispanic or Middle Eastern partner?No part of the religion ever restricted anyone to the boundaries of continents.Why in the billions of walking legs,does your “true love” has to come within the area of 647km2?Your primal answer will tell you if you’ve found your,”True Love”.

ps: True love is like your shadow.Keep chasing it,but it’s actually from you. Think about it. Why have you never thought about your shadow,when it’s sunny? (Why have you never thought about true love,when you are happy?)
Just a natural,primal instinctive thing.

Leave a Reply

