Why I Am Not Technologically Close To God.

The Abandoned Medium

 

I received a Whatsapp message from a friend the other day, that recounted a Hadeeth. I managed to glance at the message and upon seeing the short narration, I just deleted it. I pondered for a moment, if it was the right thing to do, since I did not even bothered reading it. Nevertheless, I did not have the simplest regret. Truth be told, the message was indeed well intended. But I just could not appreciate the medium by which it was disseminated.

I am an arcane and rather traditional follower of certain Islamic practices. Though it does not make me any pious or better, it just shows that I am either a non progressive retard, or I am just someone  who is non appreciative of certain aspects  by which the message the religion has to offer, is being conveyed.

Social media these days has made the availability of Islamic resources rather handy. A Quranic verse or a hadeeth is always a Google away. And these very verses and hadeeth are also a tweet or share away for the masses to digest. For those resourceful enough, these tweets and shares are also available to be scheduled on softwares or programs, to be readily “delivered “. 

I am not so sure as to the impact of such sharings, as the only indication of whether such things are well received are by the number of “likes” and  “comments”, received. But what I am sure of is the lack of spiritual essence behind the delivery of  such revered verses or hadeeth.

The old head in me, always have this rather biased view that any Quranic verses or hadeeth shared in a social setting like statuses or links or shares or tweets, loses a bit of its gloss. It seems to be like any other motivational quotes or words of inspirations, everyone else is sharing about.

To think that eons ago, acclaimed collectors of Hadeeths such as Bukhari and Muslim, painstakingly took the liberty to be as detailed and careful in its narration. Even going into the spiritual processes of taking ablutions and performing sunnah prayers, before even attempting to write a single line. So, correct me if I am wrong, if this cut and paste ritual of Googled searched verses and hadeeth, kinda rubs me the wrong way.

Then again, detractors of this argument may say that, this is a form of daáwah, by which the word of God and His messenger is being spread. To this point, I do agree that there is a tinge of appropriateness and relevance. But the thing that holds me  to that point of contention, is the overzealous efforts of well intentioned individuals to be rather nonchalant in  the way this message is being delivered.

If, by the manner of which these verses, pasted as statuses or tweets, encourages another fellow Muslim to pick up his dusty mushaf and dilligently read, then of course, it is splendid. But, if these same statuses and tweets, give people the obvious reaction of,  “Hey, I like this. Sounds appropriate for a situation in my life now. “, it kinda takes away the essence. This is especially true, in common situations where there are conflicts, disagreements or unfavorable things happening. They are so hell bent on finding the perfect  “Word of God “, to justify their standings, perspectives and potshots at concerned parties. So in the end, these verses become veiled “messages “, aimed at enlightening the people around them.

It looks like a big farce sometimes.

I might be misplaced in my take on this. But it’s just a personal observation, of which I believe holds ground, considering the amount of Quranic verses or hadeeths stated by people from all walks of lives and backgrounds, on my Facebook wall or Twitter streamline.   

By all means, share the knowledge you have about this great religion. Be inquisitive. Be thoughtful. Be discerning. Be a point of resource.

But avoid being a content generator with the intention of painting yourself as someone aligned with God when the opportunity arises. Refrain from being a noticeboard by which, people pass by, read and says, “Noted”.

Moderation and balance coupled with astute appropriateness, can indeed make the posted Quranic verses and hadeeths inspirational and provoking reminders. Overzealous attempts at being a literary spiritualist without the necessary adabs, makes one a poor imitation of a cleric.

Perhaps there is wisdom behind why mosques and religious gatherings are the real educational institutions of Islam. Perhaps there are more blessings in the sharing there.This is a great article that perhaps reinforces my personal opinion.

One thought on “Why I Am Not Technologically Close To God.

  1. as-Salamu alaykum. I think you’re right. I have seen situations where a person is flooding inboxes or social networking spaces with stuff. At the same time, quite a few Muslims are much more likely to be on Facebook everyday than in front of the Qur-an. So, if the hadeeths and ayat are those that give a short, instant message or reminder, I feel that there is a real benefit there. We have to reach people where they are at, not where we want them to be, you know? I mean that’s why we blog instead of writing with a quill and pen… Keep blogging, bro… as-Salamu alaykum

Leave a Reply

