Let’s Introduce A Lil’ Anarchy

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do I really look like a guy with a plan? You know what I am? I’m a dog chasing cars. I wouldn’t know what to do with one if I caught it! You know, I just, do things. The mob has plans, the cops have plans, Gordon’s got plans. You know, they’re schemers. Schemers trying to control their worlds. I’m not a schemer. I try to show the schemers how, pathetic, their attempts to control things really are. So, when I say, ah, come here, when I say that you and your girlfriend was nothing personal, you know that I’m telling the truth.

It’s the schemers that put you where you are. You were a schemer, you had plans, and uh, look where that got you. I just did what I do best. I took your plan and I turned it on itself. Look what I did, to this city with a few drums of gas and a couple of bullets. Hm? You know what, you know what I noticed? Nobody panics when things go according to plan. Even if the plan is horrifying. If tomorrow I tell the press that like a gang banger, will get shot, or a truckload of soldiers will be blown up, nobody panics, because it’s all, part of the plan. But when I say that one, little old mayor will die, well then everyone loses their minds!

Introduce a little anarchy. Upset the established order, and everything becomes chaos. I’m an agent of chaos. Oh and you know the thing about chaos, it’s fair.

– Joker “The Dark Knight”

As you walk along that dusted road of your life, you begin to ask yourself, if the life you are leading, is the life you planned for? Cause if by this very moment, the people around you are happily approving the state of your life, then perhaps you are living their plans. What if you were to introduce your “plans”?

Facebook is an interesting platform. Psychologically. It seems to be a fertile ground for people to assess if their “plans” are well approved by the masses. As mentioned by the Joker, no one gets alarmed when the status quo stays in check with the mundane and routine. You see your friends uploading pictures of himself with his spouse, his child, his vehicle, his house, his work station, his new haircut and so forth, and you will feel compelled to click the “Like” button. Cause somehow, that part of of our brain says, “Hey, this guy looks like he is living a plan. A life of plans. Normal plans. Does not disturb the eco system. He plans.” We are just kinda programmed to associate a life plan, as such. We attach certain statuses (marital,career,hobbies), with certain landmarks, words, visuals, emotions.

Blow up this example and you can see how queer it is. About plans that is.

What is the anarchy?

But this need to actually stay in tune with the global plan of validations, may be suppressing. Imagine a married man, putting up a status, ” Damn, I will so like to visit the Red Light districts in Ajax, Amsterdam”. Or a non smoker, suddenly spouting,” Wish I can just smoke a puff.” Or a father with a child sounding,”Wish I can just leave the family for a month and scale Kilimanjaro.”

Okay, maybe my examples are extreme, but you get the drift right? How will you feel, if these statuses are put up on your friend’s Facebook wall? Will you still gravitate towards clicking that “Like” button? Of course not. Maybe, after a quick ponder. But still, you needed to think through for awhile right? Cause, it is not the normal scheme of things. Not a plan, that is naturally associated with the fixed perceptions you have about a person/status.

So my question is, how much of our life’s plans are our life’s plans?

I loved the part when the Joker said,”You know, I just, do things.” It seems so real. So humanely real. Unfortunately, most of us do not possess that will to embark on such a credo. We wanna plan so much. Some people wanna plan a sorry sob story to explain their inability to forge a trusting relationship. Some people wanna plan an elaborate folktale in an effort to prove to people like their ex girlfriends and boyfriend that they’ve moved on in life. Some people wanna plan a grand myth about their moral compasses in matters relating to religion and marriage, in an effort to establish stability in their life. I’ve known quite a fair share of planners in my life. These are the people who plan their way into the eco systems of social validations. They fear the thought of imbalances in their planned lives.

Of course, this is a philosophical take on planning. Everyone has to plan. In many degrees. Even the Joker planned. Only thing is, that the Joker allowed the probability of screw ups in his plans to occur, and this allowed him the uncanny ability to so call live spontaneously.

That’s what most of us can do with. A bit of spontaneity in our lives.

For if we are to govern most of our planning, with the thoughts of “How many Like clicks” will this experience get, then we are perhaps living in accordance to something else or someone else’s plan.

Maybe, just maybe, living large is about introducing a bit of anarchy. It sounds fair. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Let’s Introduce A Lil’ Anarchy

    1. I agree with you. The people that matter usually do not mind the way our lives are led. Those that mind, as usual, do not really matter.

      Thank you by the way. Much appreciated. I feel validated. Hahaha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

